Home > Homework > NY Mayoral Debate

NY Mayoral Debate

Homework #2:

Find the video for the mayoral debate last night and complete the following chart: Mayoral Election

If you find the video please post it here for us. Thanks.

Categories: Homework
  1. November 27, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Note to self: Graded up until post below.

  2. sebastian e
    November 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    1.)7:54 p.m. | The candidates were asked about the vast increase in parking-ticket revenue. “The revenue helps,” but the purpose of parking tickets is traffic enforcement, the mayor insisted. Mr. Thompson said that 10 million tickets were written last year, and he called the level of fines “excessive.”

    “It is not about enforcement any longer,” Mr. Thompson said. “It is about revenue.”

    Asked to grade each other’s performance, Mr. Thompson said, “I think I’ll be kind and give the mayor a D-minus.”

    Mr. Bloomberg said: “I think that Bill has been a reasonably good comptroller. … I don’t agree with him on everything.”

    2.)National Immigration Reform

    7:52 p.m. | Ms. Salgado asked about comprehensive immigration reform, which both candidates support. “We need more immigrants, not less — that’s the way we’re going to grow ourselves out of the national recession,” the mayor said. (More than a third of the city’s population is foreign-born.)

    Mr. Thompson said he, too, had lobbied Washington on immigration reform that “creates a pathway to citizenship and doesn’t criminalize immigration” — a matter of particular importance to Hispanic voters.

    There are too many “immigrants who are here and are living in the shadows,” Mr. Thompson said, and the city should help make sure they “don’t have to hide.”

    3.)7:50 p.m. | Asked why Police Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly should be replaced, given the successes in reducing crime, Mr. Thompson said that he had only promised to replace all city commissioners. “It isn’t about one person,” Mr. Thompson said. “I think we’ve seen that there isn’t one indispensable person.”

    Mr. Thompson said Mr. Kelly was not even Mr. Bloomberg’s first choice for police commissioner — the first choice was Bernard B. Kerik, now in jail.

    “Ray Kelly has done a spectacular job and there is no reason to replace Ray Kelly,” the mayor said. He pointed to improvements in training, technology and police-minority relations.

    4.)7:48 p.m. | Mr. Brooks asked about the slow progress on the Second Avenue subway project. Mr. Thompson noted that the mayor has four representatives on the board of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, and he said that those representatives should reflect the views of ordinary riders and not “at every opportunity raise their hands” in favor of raising fares and cutting services.

    Mr. Bloomberg said, “I ride the subway four or five times a week, at minimum,” and said that transit workers did a good job. The city will have to help raise capital funds for long-term infrastructure improvements, the mayor said, adding that Mr. Thompson had supported a pay increase for members of the Transport Workers Union — “a wage increase that the M.T.A. can’t afford.”

    this was the final debate and on the following link are video clips of the debate.
    http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/10/27/bloomberg-and-thompson-head-to-a-final-face-off/

  3. Jessica R.
    November 15, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Mayoral Election

    Question #1. why are you spending so much money attacking your opponent?
    Bloomberg : I am not attacking Mr.Thompson, i tell the people what we have done and correct the statement my opponent has put out.”
    Thompson: The mayor has spent an obseen amount of money to distort my record & to try & re-write history.
    Question #2.How much do you really think that the voters should take the term limit question in account compare to the mayor’s record?
    Thompson:For 7 years, Mike Bloomberg promised the voters of New York City, that under no circumstance would he try & avoid the public by changing term limits it’s as simple as that.
    Bloomberg:We all know that we have a very difficult time here with the recession. A lot of my friends came to me & people that I didn’t even know & asked me to run again & I thought, ‘you know, in the end on Nov. 3rd we’ll have a vote on what really matters.’ A vote between 2 candidates & the public has to decide that day which of the 2 candidates they want to take this city foward. They have to decide who has the best record & who has promises for the future that are practical. . . that’s the issue facing the voters.
    Question #3. Why are Latinos so underrepresented in your office after eight years?
    Thompson:“Latinos have been well represented in my office. If you look over the eight years that I’ve been there, Latinos have been chief investment officer, have been executive deputy controller…Within my office Latinos occupy a high number of high positions in my office…”
    Bloomberg::“I would consider everybody. I’ve never thought ethnicity mattered. That would not be things that I would think about.
    Question #4 How would you grade each other’s performance?
    Thompson: “I think I’ll be kind and give the mayor a D-minus.”
    Bloomberg:“I think that Bill has been a reasonably good comptroller…I don’t agree with him on everything.”

  4. saleda a.
    November 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    1. Tell us why you would be a good/better mayor for the next 4yrs?

    T:”….I think it’s important that the mayor of the city of ny be on the side of middle-class new yorkers first, and that we keep taxes down,…that we deal with issues like affordable housing…work to make sure that New York stays an affordable city….”
    B:”Well we have been doing things to make nyc an affordable city because we want those people who built this city not to get pushed out and that’s why we have building 165000 units building affordable housing….That’s why we have 3 more yrs of rent stabilization so that people don’t have to worry about people getting pushed out of their houses….”

    2. “The city’s unemployment rate is at 10.3%(percent)….Realistically how will you bring decent job-paying jobs back to nyc?”

    B- “Well we are making this city a center for IT, a center for Biotech ….We’ve created 20,000 jobs this year alone with our Workforce One Center….as far as I know my opponent who talks about creating jobs, the only jobs he’s ever created are a patron’s (?) job and the old board of ed. and maybe some money managers and some placement agents.”
    T- “….We need to focus again, there are manufacturing jobs and manufacturers out there that want to expand. We need to help them expand, like the garments center that this administration continues to squeeze. We need to focus on , as our President would say, “On a demand-driven economy” that starts to align with our community colleges and job training, skills development….Not what we’ve done, we’ve continued to see those jobs in the middle class disappear from the city of ny.”

    3. Education

    B- “….we focused on education, and our school system is giving our kids a lot better opportunities to get the kinda skills that they’re gonna need to move forward. We already have a program to make our community colleges better and that’s exactly what we have to do….and when my opponent ran the old board of ed. his education didn’t do anything for our kids. Quite the contrary, kids got pushed from grade to grade without having to-being able to do the work….”

    T- “….This constant distortion of my record when I was at the board of education and the spending of an excessive, an absorptive amount of money to continuing to lie to the people of nyc needs to stop. The nytimes said last wk as they looked at my record when I was with the board of educaton that reading scores went up 4yrs in a row, math scores went up, and I think the times described me as a reformer….Elevated scores, reading scores that go up each and every yr , that’s helping our children, not this Enron of education that we’re seeing right now where the numbers are fuzzy…where the scores are inflated and puffed up….we’re seeing our young people going off to school, they may graduate but they’re going off and they can’t compete. They’re being taught to take standardized tests, they’re not being taught comprehension and critical thinking….

    4.economy-taxes—“With a huge budget deficit, would you ever consider raising taxes to balance the budget, Would you raise taxes (Thompson), and if you don’t plan on raising taxes, what would you do to specifically cut city programs, is there a specific program u would cut?

    T: “First, no I would not raise taxes.” First we would need to look at the $9billion in the services contracted out, at each and every yr….We need to do a top to bottom review of each and every city agency led by the mayor and make the cuts in the programs that don’t work and make sure that the programs that do work, continue. And then also, we need to close some of the tax breaks out there, we’ve seen some companies like CableVision that owns Madison Sq. Garden, they’ve received over $300million in tax breaks…There are a number of ways I’d close those budget gaps. I would like to hear for a change the mayor talk about closing the budget gaps….”

    B: “….We can not raise taxes, we shouldn’t, we have no plans to do so, and unless there was something like Albany going bankrupt, we have-we will not do that. What we have to do is grow our economy, grow more jobs, so that we have a bigger revenue coming in for current tax rates, and also do things more efficiently. And one of the reasons we don’t have to raise taxes, we have been saving….This yr we closed a $5billion deficit again….we’ve protected the services that we have to protect….”

  5. Franchelly
    November 15, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Thompson on Bloomberg’s wealth: “Can the richest man in New York City play by his own set of rules, while we play by a different set of rules?”
    Bloomberg on Thompson’s education record: “The schools were much worse then. It was a failing school system”; “Rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic — that is exactly what he did”
    Thompson on the term limits extension: “It is wrong. Mike Bloomberg lied to the people of New York City.”
    Bloomberg on term limits: Noting that voters are facing issues about education, crime, and tough financial times, “No one is indispensable. But voters have a choice. And if that’s their issue on Nov. 3, they can express themselves.”

    Bloomberg on Thompson’s acceptance of donations from pension funds the city invests with: “My opponent has taken something like $650,000 from people who manage the city’s money. In return for which the city has gotten worse performance. That is no way to run a government.”
    Thompson on Bloomberg’s generous philanthropy: “The mayor has engaged in pay-to-endorse politics.”
    On whether Senate Majority Leader Pedro Espada Jr. is better than former Senate Majority Joe Bruno: Thompson said, “Yes,” while Bloomberg said, “No.”
    On whether President Obama had done enough on gay rights so far: Thompson said yes, while Bloomberg said no.
    On whether they had ever gotten a manicure or pedicure: Thompson said yes (but not recently) while Bloomberg said no.
    On whether Rudy Giuliani would make a good governor: Thompson said no, while Bloomberg said yes.
    Bloomberg saying something nice about Thompson: “He’s a great golfer, and we’ve done a lot of things together, and we’ve had good times together.”
    Thompson saying something nice about Bloomberg: ” think the mayor is well-dressed and his golf game has shown great improvement. At the same time, eight is enough.”

  6. Olga Reyes
    November 15, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Mayoral Election
    1.why are you spending so much money attacking your opponent?
    Thompson:“Bloomberg has spend absurd amounts of money pointing out differences. Distorting my image and attacking my integrity”
    Bloomberg: ”well i am not attacking Mr. Thompson i tell the people what we have done and correct the statement my opponent has put out.”
    2. Why are Latinos so underrepresented in your office after eight years? Thompson:“Latinos have been well represented in my office. If you look over the eight years that I’ve been there, Latinos have been chief investment officer, have been executive deputy controller…Within my office Latinos occupy a high number of high positions in my office…”
    Bloomberg:“I would consider everybody. I’ve never thought ethnicity mattered. That would not be things that I would think about. We’ll look for the best person the way I’ve always done. We’ll conduct a national search…”
    3. Do you think most parents would agree that the school were 43% or 55% better? Thompson:”I have been vocal for the past 7 years. I have been including parents into the schools. Also I talk about the kids knowing and understanding the tests they take.” he wants them to comprehend”.
    Bloomberg:”I don’t think that’s the measure because there’s inflations built in there.” they had to pay the teachers what they can make elsewhere. They try to give them fair wage; he has put his money into education the most”.
    4.How would you grade each other’s performance?
    Thompson:”I think I’ll be kind and give the mayor a D-minus”
    Bloomberg:”I think that Bill has been a reasonably good comptroller,I don’t agree with him on everything”

  7. eliana a.
    November 14, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Mayoral Election

    1) Should taxes be raised to help close the deficit?

    Thompson-“No, I would not raise taxes, I would start by looking at the $9 billion in services that are contracted out by the city every year. I would lead a “top-to-bottom review” of all city programs to assess their effectiveness.”

    Bloomberg-“Mr. Thompson has been comptroller since 2002, if there’s all this waste, it’s a shame he didn’t point it out back then. The city should protect the services we have to protect, and not cut essential services as it did during the 1970s fiscal crisis.”

    2)What about the phenomenon of luxury apartments remaining vacant while homelessness is at record levels?

    Thompson-“People continue to be pushed out across the city of New York. I’d press Albany for expanding Mitchell-Lama tenant protections..more could be done with the Housing Authority to make apartments affordable.”

    Bloomberg-“We have to have a balance between rents that people can afford,” and allowing landlords to turn a profit so they will stay invested in the city.”

    3)“What are your plans to redefine the middle class as it is in New York City?”

    Bloomberg – “The middle class are the people who use our public schools, the people who use our mass transit, the people who walk our streets and want to be safe..they’re going to have to make a choice between paying tuition or getting a good education, and I’m determined that they’re going to be able to get their kids an education without paying tuition.”

    Thompson-“There isn’t an exact figure…one million people had been squeezed out..The definition of the middle class is those who are you squeezing out.”

    4)How would you grade each other’s performance?
    Thompson- “I think I’ll be kind and give the mayor a D-minus.”

    Bloomberg-“I think that Bill has been a reasonably good comptroller…I don’t agree with him on everything.”

  8. Melissa V.
    November 14, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    B = Bloomberg
    T = Thompson

    Questions.
    1.) Why are you spending so much money attacking Mr. Thompson?

    B. “Well I am not attacking Mr. Thompson, I am trying to set the record straight, I am trying to tell the people what we’ve done & to correct the statements of my opponent when he puts out statements that aren’t correct. . . I think it’s fair to say that people understand. Today the schools are a lot better than they were before & if you’re going to look to the future comparing what we’ve both done. . . that’s what a campaign is about, that’s what advertising is about & that’s what the debate is about.”

    T. “Well Dominick, I think that, I’ve spent my time campaigning trying to point at the ligitament differences between Mike Bloomberg & myself that’s what I’ve attempted to do. The mayor has spent an obseen amount of money to distort my record & to try & re-write history. Truth is when you start to look at so many instances, the dep. of edu., it’s ironic that the mayor would talk about the education system in the past . . . nothing could be further from the truth & it is unfortunate that they mayor has attempted to spend this kind of money to distort my record & really to attack my integrity.”

    2.)How much do you really think that the voters should take the term limits question into account compared to the mayors record?

    T.)Well, first, I think that let’s set the stage. For 7 years, Mike Bloomberg promised the voters of New York City, that under no circumstance would he try & avoid the public by changing term limits it’s as simple as that. I think his phrase was, ‘it would be disgraceful, to go around the people of New York City & to go to the city council & change term limits. & in the end, when self interest called, he did just that, he went around the people of New York City, he went to the city council & changed term limits. . . I think it is an issue & i think its one that the voters of NYC still aren’t happy about.

    B.) We all know that we have a very difficult time here with the recession. A lot of my friends came to me & people that I didn’t even know & asked me to run again & I thought, ‘you know, in the end on Nov. 3rd we’ll have a vote on what really matters.’ A vote between 2 candidates & the public has to decide that day which of the 2 candidates they want to take this city foward. They have to decide who has the best record & who has promises for the future that are practical. . . that’s the issue facing the voters.”

    3.)Do you really think most parents would agree that the schools are 43% or 55% better?

    B.”I don’t think that’s the measure because there’s inflation built in there,
    theres the competitive factor. We have to pay our teachers what they can make else wheres. After all, while they’re dedicated people & they want to help our children & they don’t go into public service, to make a lot of money, they still have to pay the rent. . . but teachers are the key to education & if you want the best, you got to pay them.”

    T.)Why you weren’t more vocal, before last year?
    “I think I have been vocal over the last 7 years. I’ve pointed out a number of the problems at the dep. of edu. I’ve talked about the failure to involve parents & really include parents in this school system over the last 7 years, they have been shut out. I’ve talked about the George Bush ‘No Child Left Behind’ focus on standardize testing, it’s being employed right now. . . I stood up & fought for what I believed is right.”

    4.)Why are latinos so under represented in your office after 8 years?

    T.”The truth is latinos have been well represented in my office. If you look over the 8 years that I’ve been there latinos have been chief investment officer, executive deputy controller, deputy controller for. . . a number of different things. . . it isn’t something i take lightly, diversity is important. I’ve gone out an essembled the best & brightest & talented & latinos havebeen well represented in my administration.”

    B.)”40% of the managers in the city goverment &30% of the people that I have named to things are people of color. . . I never thought ethnicity mattered. . . I want to make sure that our government is fulled with because they are the ones that bring the new ideas.”

  9. Carolina G.
    November 8, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Mayoral Election Questions
    1)what have you fail to do in the past 8 years, that 4 more years would help you accomplish
    B: “well we made a lot of progress in the school system, but not every child gets the education they’re going to need to compete in the world, we brought crime down a lot, but there is still too much crime any crime is too much crime, we brought a lot of jobs to diverts our economy but we are still very dependent on wall street,so they’re a variety of things that we had done”.
    T: “Well what i think the mayor has fail to do is to close the affordability gap, as we just saw today 1 million middle class new yorkers had been push out of the city under his leadership. we looked at the increase of taxes and fines and water-rate and parking tickets that continue to squeeze middle class new yorkers out of the city of new york, that’s what mike bloomberg has fail to due in his administration”.

    2)4th graders did worst than last year, How can we trust that student progress is really being measure accurately?
    B: thank you, but it was not 4th graders in the city, it was 4th graders in the state. our progress in the schools is very different than it was back in the day, when bill Thompson ran then schools were violent, classrooms disrupted by kids, today violence is down 44%, back on those days test scores didn’t go up, today they are going up we have 20% more kids Reading and doing math in a grade level in the 4th and 8th grade that we did back then.
    T: when the result come out new york is going to be flat again, because new york students are only being though to take these test, as one student say they were being thought to memorize things they are not being though critical thinking and comprehension. the SAT scores are down again year after year after year they continue to go down. our students need to focus on critical thinking and comprehension.

    3) immigration you say how great it is that immigrants are here to revive the city now we know that they are waiting for an immigration reform at the federal level, but as a mayor of such a diverse city what can you tell them?
    B: i being in wasington to testifi i would go in any chance i have to washington or around the county, we need more immirants not less, that is how we are going to grow out of the resection, new york stenght is that we have a large immigran community that understand and have work together, in the mean time we can work in the city, and we have done unless u get arested we will not ask for you immigration status, you can feel free to go to school, and we are going to have an extra ID for parents in the school who dont have one or worrie about not having one and going to the school, we make sure our hospital will take you and not ask for your immigrant status, translating as much thing as possible, and we are going to continue to do that.
    T: immigration has benefited new york city it has made new york city better and stronger.

    4)you each work closely in the past 8 years, give each other a grade.
    T: i think i we kind and give the mayor a D minus
    B: i think bill has been a good controler we have worked together on most issues i dont agree with him on everything, but i have say that he a the best controler the board has have, the best controler i have ever worked with it has been a pleasure working with him. i dont think that he is the right guy to run the city, i think that i am.
    http://www.wnyc.org/news/articles/143261 THIS IS NOT A VIDEO BUT IS THE AUDIO OF THE DEBATE.

  10. Jonathan H.
    November 5, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    1. Why are they spending so much money attacking themselves?
    M. Bloomberg: Michael said,” I am not attacking; I am telling people what he has done. I’m correcting statements of my opponent when he thinks wrong.”
    Thomas: He has to point out Michael’s differences. He says that Michael spent a lot of money to distort his record and to attack his integrity.

    2. How much do you really think that the voters should take the term limit question into account compare to the mayor’s record?
    M. Bloomberg: The voters have the choice. They can express themselves in Nov. the person who improves health. , gun issues out there is him that takes care of the.
    Thomas: He thinks voters are upset that mayor undermined democracy. He thinks the people would want a vote on the issue of term limits.

    3. Do you think most parents would agree that the school were 43% or 55% better?
    M. Bloomberg: he said,” I don’t think that the measure because there’s inflation built in there. We have to pay the teachers what they can make elsewhere. Paying is only the beginning, a fair wage is good.” He has put his money in education.
    Thomas: he said,” I have been vocal for the past seven year. I have been including parents into the schools system. Also about learning, he wants everyone to understand and understand the concepts.

    4. Why are Latinos so under representatives in your office after 8 years?
    M. Bloomberg: he said that 40% of mangers and 30% of his workers are colored people. He would consider everyone for his work. Also, he will conduct a search and identify candidates.
    Thomas: He said the truth is Latinos have been well representatives in his office. They have been chief investment officers, and executive deputy controllers.

  11. Paola Llanos
    November 4, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Paola Llanos
    1)Question:Do you realy think most parents would agree that the schools are 43% or 55% better?
    Answers:Bloomberg said-“…We have to pay our teachers what they can make ellswheres, after all while there dedicated people and they want to help our children and they dont go into public service to make a lot of money.They still have to pay the rent they still want to buy food they till want to go on a vacation……paying them it is giving them the apportunity to realy help our kids…..but they still certainly deserve the getting payed not as much as they like but as much as we can afford.If you want the best you have to pay them.”
    Thompson said-“….ive pointed out a number of the problems at the department of educantion.ived talked about the failure to involve parents and realy include parents in this school system over the last 7 years……ive talked about the George Bush “no child left behind” focus on standardized testing…and how that is wrong…our children are not learning critical thinking..and the ability to be able to compete on a global economy..”
    2)Question:out of 38 people just 4 of them are Latinos.Knowing that the city is 27% Latinos.Why are they so underrepresented in your office after 8 years?
    Thompson said:”…the truth is latinos have been well represented in my office….latinos occupy a number of high positions in my office…latinos have been highly represented in my office..
    Bloomberg said:..”Ive never though that ethnicity mattered.tha would not be one of the things i would think about.Keep in mind we have always looked for the best and ive workerd very hard to make sure that our administration is open to people regardless of the leanguage they speak……”
    3)Question:Can you argue that the rezoning of the city has been a good thing for the people?
    Bloomberg said:”…those rezonings give us a future.And we’ve try to do is in neighborhoods like parts of Queens and in parts of Stated Island that are recidential preserve the character of the nighborhood and prevet the big buldings from going up…In other places where we do have the space…where you can accommodate the people who want to come to the city and find housing..”
    Thompson said:..”the story of the city of new york these days are middles class and working newyokers who have been pushed out of there neighborhoods…through zoning and though the increase of water rates and taxes…”
    4)Question:Mayors Homeless policy by Bloomberg..what would you Ms.Thompson do differently than the myor and how can you do that doing the state of the economy?
    Thompson said:”…we need to focus on preventing homelessness..we need to be able to built more afortable housing..”
    Bloomberg said:”…we’e made the system better we’ve worked on prevention and weve moved record numbers of people out into permanet housing…we can make sure if they have a family….we can reunite the families and the families can take care of them we can help them do that.”

  12. Jonathan H
    November 4, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    1. Why are they wasting money attacking each other, when they’re supposed to make the voters like them not the opposing candidate?
    Michael Bloomberg: M. Bloomberg said” I am not attacking; I’m telling people what he has done.” He corrected statements of his opponent when he thinks it’s wrong.
    Thomas: Thomas said” I’m pointing out the difference. Michael Bloomberg spent lot money to distort my record.

    2. How much do you really think that the voters should take the term limit question in account compare to the mayor’s record?
    M. Bloomberg: The voters have the choice. They can express themselves on November 3. The person who has been with them and improves the health, gun issues is him.
    Thomas: He thinks voters are upset that mayor undermined democracy. He thinks the people would want a vote on the issue of term limits.

    3. Do you think most parents would agree that the school were 43% or 55% better?
    M. Bloomberg: Michael said, “I don’t think that’s the measure because there’s inflations built in there.” they had to pay the teachers what they can make elsewhere. They try to give them fair wage; he has put his money into education the most.
    Thomas: Thomas said,” I have been vocal for the past 7 years. I have been including parents into the schools. Also I talk about the kids knowing and understanding the tests they take.” he wants them to comprehend.

    4. Why are Latinos so under representatives in your office after 8 years?
    M. Bloomberg: Forty percent manager in the government and 30% that work with his are colored people, but he really didn’t look in particular for Latinos. He would consider everyone for his work.
    Thomas: Thomas said, “The truth is, Latinos have been a well representative in my office. They have been chef investment officers, and excusive controllers of many things.”

  13. victoria Godoy
    November 4, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Mayoral Election
    Questions
    1. why are you spending so much money attacking your opponent?

    Bloomberg’s answer: ” well i am not attacking Mr. Thompson i tell the people what we have done and correct the statement my opponent has put out.”

    Thompson: ” Bloomberg has spend absurd amounts of money pointing out differences. Distorting my image and attacking my integrity.

    2 how much do you think that the voters should take the term limits question into account compared to the mayor’s record?

    Thompson: “for 7 years Mike Bloomberg promised the voters of NYC under NO circumstance would he try to avoid the public. His quote was ” it would be disgraceful to go around the people in NYC and to go to the city council to change term limits.” in the end when self interest called, he did just that.”

    Bloomberg: ” With the recession, friends and people i didn’t know asked me to run again”

    3 why are Latinos so under-represented in your office after eight years?

    Thompson: ” LAtinos are well represented in my office. deputy controller legeal and settlements etc.”

    Bloomberg: ” Mas de 40 porciento de los Latinos controlan en mi officina” (:])
    more than 40% of the people in my office out of about 90 are Latinos with power.

    4. has president Obama done enough for gay rights?

    Thompson: “hes been in for 9 months. well yes.”

    Bloomberg: “NO!’

    [I’M NOT GOING TO LIE. IT WAS TYPE BORING. THANK GOD IT HAPPENDS EVERY 4 YEARS)

  14. Andrea R.
    November 4, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Mayoral Election
    Questions
    1. Have you ever had a manicure or pedicure?
    Thompson’s Answer: Not recently, but yes.
    Bloomberg’s Answer: No.
    2. Why are you spending so much money attacking Mr. Thompson/Mike Bloomberg? Bloomberg’s Answer: “Well I’m not attacking Mr. Thompson. I’m trying to set the record straight. I’m trying to tell all the people what we’ve done and to correct the statements of my opponent when he puts out statements that aren’t correct…” Thompson’s Answer: “I think that I’ve spent my time campaigning, trying to point out the legitimate differences between Mike Bloomberg and myself. That’s what I’ve attempted to do…”
    3. How much do you really think that voters should take the term limit question into account compared to the mayor’s record?
    Bloombergs Answer: “We all know that we gave a very difficult time here with the recession and a lot of my friends came to me and people that I didn’t even know and asked me to run again and I thought, you know in the end in November 3rd were going to vote on what really matters…”
    Thompson’s Answer: “For seven years Mike Bloomberg promised the voters of New York City that under no circumstance would he try and avoid the public by changing term limits, it’s as simple as that. I think his phrase was, it would be disgraceful to go around the people of New York City and go to the city council and change term limits and in the end when self interest called, he did just that…”
    4. Why are Latinos so underrepresented in your office after eight years?
    Bloombergs Answer: “I would consider everybody. I’ve never thought ethnicity mattered. That would not be things that I would think about. We’ll look for the best person the way I’ve always done. We’ll conduct a national search…”
    Thompson’s Answer: “Latinos have been well represented in my office. If you look over the eight years that I’ve been there, Latinos have been chief investment officer, have been executive deputy controller…Within my office Latinos occupy a high number of high positions in my office…”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

