Home > Extra Credit, Personal Recommendations > Interesting and differing points of view…

Interesting and differing points of view…

Compare editorial with these political cartoons to see the differences of opinion based on Pres. Barack Obama’s Nobel Peace Prize win. For extra credit, choose a side and argue for it on this blog.

  1. Eliana A.
    October 18, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    I dont really like political cartoons. They are whiny and sarcastic. I didnt find out about Obama winning the nobel prize until just now. Well I believe that hes gonna do good for this country and is going to give us a major change. He deserves the prize, after all. I’m taking the editorial side. To me the political cartoons are making it out to seem as if he didn’t deserve it.

  2. saleda a.
    October 17, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    First of all, I really didn’t understand why Obama recieved the nobel peace prize until I read about it just now on the Huffington Post; now I feel like I can actually agree with Arianna Huffington. I don’t think it is a silly idea but an honorable one to give to give it to Obama’s efforts.
    I thought the political cartoons satirizing about Obama’s nobel are funny, as they are meant to be this way and maybe not trying to push the agenda of being against Obama’s honor, just maybe question it.
    Still, even if Obama did win for not being Bush, it was worth it. =D

  3. Andrea R.
    October 17, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    I would side with the editorial because even though people see that President Obama hasn’t done anything I think he did which was being the first black president ever in history. I believe that what they say about him winning the Nobel Prize just because he isn’t another George W. Bush is wrong. I think Obama did deserve that prize and if people see it as something he didn’t deserve then why did they vote for him in the first place. All in all President Obama has done a great deal of stuff for our country and there is more yet to come.

  4. Melissa V.
    October 17, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Political cartoons are always meant to be funny, & most of the time they are but sometimes people take it too far & it goes from being funny to “that wasn’t funny, that was just mean.” I, personally, hated Bush when he was Commander-in-Chief. I feel he did nothing for our country but worsen it. Situations were great when Clinton left & Bush managed to turn that great into crap when he left. I don’t know how he was there for 8 years. When Obama was running for presidency, he felt capable & ready enough to run a country that was falling apart from places left & right. Regardless, why are we giving him so much of a hassle, he’s president & if that’s so, it must’ve been because we saw something in him that we validated him for presidency. Why not give him a Nobel Peace Prize, at least it wasn’t Bush.

  5. Melissa V.
    October 17, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Political cartoons are always meant to be funny, & most of the time they are but sometimes peoplet ake it too far & it goes from being funny to “that wasn’t funny, that was just mean.” I, personally, hate dBush when he was Commander-in-Chief. I feel he did nothing for our country to worsen it. Situations were great when Clinton left & he manage to turn that great into crap when he left. I don’t know how he was there for 8 years. When Obama was running for presidency, he felt capable & ready enough to run a country that was falling apart from places left & right. Regardless, why are we giving him so much of a hassle, he’s president & if that’s so, it must’ve been because we saw something in him that we validated him for presidency. Why not give him a Nobel Peace Prize, at least it wasn’t Bush.

  6. Michelle B.
    October 15, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    To women in the editorial feels that Obama got his prize cause of the little difference he has done even though he doesn’t have a year in office yet. It bothers me to see that the political cartoons just think that Obama got the prize just because he’s not George bush. I would personally take the editorial side because okay George Bush did what he did but Obama is the new president and I feel that he has mad a difference to this country.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

